Real Ivory or Fake

9 replies to this topic

#1 Ed Twilbeck

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 310 posts

Posted 29 May 2006 - 02:21 AM

We just got what we think is an Ivory necklace. It is made of 34 strips that are about 2 in long, wide 1/8 thick, and they are carved. What I would like to know how I can tell if it is real ivory or a good fake. The color varies on each piece. Does not feel like any kind of plastic. Any help please. Any simple test that I can do?
Thanks Ed.
Firewood Studio
Ed Twilbeck

#2 Janel

Administrator

• Admin
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,639 posts

Posted 29 May 2006 - 04:05 AM

I am no expert, but would suggest that you look for some indication of grain. Ivory, mammoth and elephant, have a distinct pattern of intersecting arcs when looking at a cross sectioned end. The degree of the angle at the intersection differs between the two sorts of ivory.

Did you really mean 18 (eighteen?) inches thick? That would make for a very heavy necklace. I would not cut into the material before consulting someone experienced in ivory identification could be consulted, unless you purchased the material to be used as raw material for another project. If the pieces are 1/8 (one eighth) inch thick finding the grain might be tricky. Such slender pieces are available as raw material from dealers, and the source may be mammoth in origin. The tusks often delaminate, split and separate from the core material because of the millennia spent in the earth until their discovery, and upon drying out, shrink and split. I'll have a look at my pieces of mammoth tusk that are like that to see if the grain pattern occurs that far out on the tusk.