moondog

bone carving

Hello all,

I'm very new at this so i could use all the help i can get, would anyone please help me find the answers to the following questions.

1). what is the best way to clean out the marrow, sinews, and fat from a cattle schin bone? Should this be done before or after soaking it in water and soap? Also, is it bad to boil the bones with the meat and fat in it? if so what is the best way to get the oils out so that it doesn't leach into the rest of the bone?

2). After my bone is prepared and I have a pattern carved out, what is the best way to sand my pieces to a smooth surface. the areas that i am looking for in particular are the insides of curves and rounded areas where a flat sand paper cant get to. I've heard people suggest wet sand paper, but i'm not sure how to do this.

3). What is the best way to polish and whiten the finished piece?

I use a lot of bones (not only cow), so have a bit of experience.

What I do is when I get the bone, try to clean it as soon as possible. The first thing is to cut off the two ends. The line where they are cut off should leave no spongey bits in the inside , but only clean bone. Next step is to press out the marrow. Normally with cowbone it should come out in one or two solid pieces. Next put it in a pot of cold water, and put the pot on the range to boil up. After the water starts boiling, I take the pot off immmediately. Some carvers leave it on for longer, some for as much as an hour, but I found that the bones will tend to get more brittle the longer they boil. Now is the time for the scraper, to clean the outside of the bone. A knife will work, but I use a specially made sraper, which is simply an old triangular file set in a handle, with the file teeth ground off, and the edges ground sharp. Works like a dream.