Sign in to follow this  
Will Dikel

3D photos of my latest carving

(I'm a new member. I posted these photos of my new work on the Photography section, then realized I should have posted them here.)

Hi fellow carvers,

I'm new to the Carver's Path, and am posting my first photo. It is of a boxwood carving I just finished, patterned on the seed pod next to it. I am pretty much a beginner, and thought I would start on an easy (ha ha) project.

I photographed it in 3D, and you can view it in 3D- it takes a little practice but is well worth it. You need to have your head be level, then cross your eyes, and bring the images together until they merge. When they merge, just relax, and you will see the 3D image. Don't be frustrated if it doesn't work right away.

It is unbelievably easy to photograph carvings in 3D- all you have to do is use a slide bar on a tripod, and take a second photo. The distance between the first and second photo depends on how close you are to the subject. (Generally, the ratio of distance between pictures and distance to the carving is about 1:30)

The method is explained on

http://home.att.net/~drt-3d/

and

http://home.att.net/~drt-3d/toys/bogen/index.htm

If you photograph slides, you can buy inexpensive hold-to-light viewers to view them in 3D- then you automatically see the carving in 3D. For those of you who send photos to prospective customers, the 3D makes a huge difference in their ability to appreciate your work. See:

http://www.berezin.com/3d/viewers1.htm

Photos can be mounted on cards, and viewed with old fashioned stereoscopic viewers (or free-viewed).

I would be glad to answer any questions about this method.

P.S.

I'm totally blown away by the talent of the carvers on this site.

Will Dikel

post-466-1161450191.jpg

post-466-1161450203.jpg

post-466-1161450217.jpg