Greetings from New Mexico

Pat Pruitt

Hello to everyone here on the board!!! The name is Pat Pruitt, I am a metalsmith out here in the high desert of New Mexico. I work exclusively out of stainless steel (Type 316L) making personal objects of adornment. My professional career is making jewelry for the body piercing industry and that has been good to me over the years. I am a trained silversmith of southwest techniques, but have chosen a new path with jewelry and the material I love to work with.

I am greatly humbled to be in the presence of such talented individuals that are on this board. I have much respect for the traditional ways of doing inlay and metal working, but life has given me the opportunity to take these techniques and apply them with *modern* equipment. I have been self taught in the styles of sen-zogan and hira-zogan on stainless steel thru much trial and error over the past two years. Here are some examples of my work. You can find other examples on my site.

Lark_Sub.jpg

Flame-Bracelet-No-2.jpg

All the *carving* for the inlay is accomplished via 3 axis cnc. Under cuts done by hand, fine silver is the inlay material. I do work with some gold and copper as inlay material as well.

Im very eager to learn more hands on techniques, tool making, and also to share with you any tips or techniques I can. Once again, I am very happy to find this forum and spend more time here with you all.

Best Regards,

P@

Hi Pat,

Welcome to The Carving Path forum! I think that we have not had an artist here who uses a CNC machine to do the carving, so it could be interesting information to read about how your technique works (of course, in the Techniques section). I seem to have some questions already for you to answer there: Do you hand carve the original model? Is the carving machine totally automatic and used for replication in multiples? More questions, I am sure.