Hippo Ivory Preparation

Mark

HI everyone. This is my first post. This is my first attempt at carving ivory. I purchased a piece of hippo ivory and have cut it to a smaller length for my piece. About half of the tooth has the nice ready to go Ivory that is manageable to carve. However about half the tooth has a harder grooved outer layer that is really hard to carve. Does anyone know of an easier method of removing this hard outer layer to get to the chewy easier to carve center? Thanks and any help greatly appreciated. Mark Lustigm@verizon.net

As I understand it, you want to remove the bark. A belt sander, using the slack part of the belt should help get rid of the outer layer. Start with a medium grit and watch the aggressiveness. I'd hand sand with the finer grits to avoid burning the material. You could hand sand entirely, but it will take longer. Hope this helps.

The hard part is the enamel of the tooth - what you want to carve is the interior ivory or dentin. I soak the tooth for about 30 minutes in muriatic acid (used in the construction industry for cleaning concrete and brickwork - is an industrial grade of hydrochloric acid). The acid will dissolve the enamel. Obviously the acid is a hazardous material, so you should handle it with care, outside, rubber gloves and eye protection. Don't leave the acid inside your studio/shop since outgassing will cause all the steel in the place to rust, even with the cap sealed.

The bad part is the surface of the ivory will be attacked as well, and will be sort of gooey/sticky. I use a scraper to remove all of that and get down to the good carving material, followed by a short soak in baking soda/water or household cleaning ammonia to neutralize any remaining acid. Ideally, you should wait several days before continuing to carve. Any gooey spots you've missed should show up as darker areas by then.