Hi There,

Donn Salt

Hi Guys,

Great site and with a couple of familiar names.

Carving started for me as a means toward freedom from the drudge of a 9 to 5 job.

Initial experiments with jade in 1967-68 followed by trial and error, self-taught training. This time allowed sufficient skills to develope enough to support myself and so was able step out into the world as a full time carver sculptor by 1970.

There has been no looking back since. The pursuing decades have been full of learning, resulting in a far greater freedom than anticipated.

Knowledge and skills evolved with research and experience, expanding the barriers of percieved limitations.

Netsuke have been a format I've worked with since the early eighties and have exhibited often. More examples of work can be seen on a preliminary website I've started constructing recently. www.donnsalt.com

I read with interest the posts regarding ivory nuts. A material I discovered about '82 and played with for a while but the fascination with stone won out. However they do carry various names, one of which is corozo as mentioned.

There is a reasonable amount of information at (tagua2go.com/tagua_history.htm)

A little commercial perhaps but the range of basic information is worth looking at.

post-97-1113036220.jpg

post-97-1113038296.jpg

Guest DFogg

Wow, that is really interesting work. Welcome Donn.

Never having carved stone, I am curious about the tools you use. I would love to see your workshop and surroundings. New Zealand seems such a magical place.

I will put your book on my wish list.

Don

Thanks Don,

I've not travelled so have little experience of other countries. However N.Z. is a beautiful land and the desire to travel has never been great.

Will post pics of the jade work environment and tools in a few days. At the moment I'm working on a large andesite head of the genre in the pics attached and the jade bench is bereft of tools as they have been commandeered for this outside project.