Personal Style

Doug Sanders

I'm in a philosophical mood today, and a comment passed on to Janel got me thinking...

I've been carving for a few years now and haven't really consciously thought of carving in one style or another. Sure, I've got artists/schools/periods I look to for inspiration or have respect for, but I try not to consciously copy the works of others. I had many carvings gathered recently for photographing and began to discern a personal style, for the first time. By this I mean an appearance, aesthetic undercurrent or mood generated by one's work.

It got me thinking, how do we arrive at a style? Is it a conscious decision to carve this way or that? Do we have a style from the start- was it always there- but doesn't show itself until we begin to reach some level of technical competency? At this point, are our skills good enough to make materially tangible what has always been internal and present?

When I went to art school in the late 80's, I was always jealous of the students who made every drawing the same way, or had a visible vocabulary from which they made art.

Is it easier to see individual qualities in another than oneself?

Why is copying seen as a negative act in the West while in the East it is acceptable?

I think for me, I carve what makes me happy. I strive to be the best technically that I can; I make conscious aesthetic and compositional decisions yet don't set out to make 'ART".

-DS

For me, style evolves out of your skill set and your eye. I design pieces that encompass what I know I can do and what I want to attempt. There is a progression to the work and generally when I finish a piece, I already have ideas that I want to try on the next piece. Over time there developes a continuity to the work that can be identified as a style that is unique.