New member from Canberra Australia

Simon F

hello All

I have just joined the forum and am just saying hello to you all. I've been reading various sections of the forum for a few days now, and it is full of interesting info - thankyou all.

My background is that I did a jewellery design degree at the uni of South Australia in the mid ninties and after a break of a few years (pursuing sporting dreams) I started a small studio a few years ago. However, while at uni I was fortunate enough to meet Sue Wraight and see some of her carvings. We were set a project to carve following this meeting, and then I was hooked. However I didn't do many carvings until recently, when I decided that I'd rather be doing carving than jewellery.

I'm working on casting my carvings in bronze - to make them more affordable for the customer. Getting good waxes (i'm using lost wax casting) is the hard part. The size of the pieces means that the wax must be perfect, as they are small enough that you tend to scrutenise them closely, and any bubbles from the wax for is obvious in the cast metal. However they are also big enough that injecting the wax in the manner of jewellery casting, causes them to be prone to bubbles as the air in the mold stuggles to escape as the wax is forced in. So at the moment I am pouring the wax in instead of injecting. This is giving better results but not without it's fair share of frustrating failures!!!

the picture - if i've managed to attach it properly - was my second carving, done a few years ago after the project we did at uni.

cheers

Simon

post-1673-1197707567.gif

Hi Simon,