guess what I did today

Dustin Clayton

Okay I'm not terribly active on this forum but honestly I'm on here every day. Recently (at my wife's suggestion) I've been making an effort to be more active on the online communities to which I belong. I'm constantly humbled by the caliber of work and ideas routinely displayed here and I hope to be able to contribute to the discussion more in the future.

Anyway, today I went in to work (i'm a bench jeweler by proffession) on my day off and I made my first couple tiny little ingots of shibuichi (correct me if I murdered the spelling) 75% copper 25% fine silver. They came out really well I think. My boss brought in a crucible and an ingot mold from his casting shop at home and I used my regular old mini torch (propane and oxy) with a number 7 tip, it put out a surprisingly high level of heat. Because the torch was so small I made 2 little ingots, each weighing about 20 grams. After casting I anealed the crap out of them, filed about 1 mm off the surface and then rolled one out on the rolling mill. I did'nt have super high hopes, having stayed up late last night reading all the available info here on the forum. the surface of the ingot was fairly porous particularily on the top where I thought it would be. However I went fairly slow with the rolling and anealed often and it didnt turn out terrible. Right after filing the ingot was 6mm thick. All told I rolled it down to 3.5 mm and only then did surface cracks bigin to appear (surprisingly on the bottom). I stopped at that point and decided to continue at a later time or just use the piece as is, we'll see.