New member from northern Kentucky

Denis A Bryant

Hi everyone, my name is Denis Alan Bryant and I live in Brooksville Ky. I hope I am posting this correctly, if I am not, please give me a little time and I will learn. I have been an artist all of my life, I have never had any formal training or lessons. My mother made and painted ceramics and my father was a wood carver. I work mostly in 3 mediums, oil on canvas, clay [ southwestern style coiled pottery ] and stone carving. It is stone carving that I do most often. I carve arrowheads, spearheads, blades and effigy pieces. My work is a tribute to a magnificent prehistoric people who lived in North America hundreds and even thousands of years ago whom I have always had a great respect for. Each piece can take several hours to make, but when it is finished it will look almost exactly like the real artifact. My favorite stone to carve is a alabaster, I also carve catlinite and wonderstone. I like soapstone but it is to soft, for my type of work the stone must be hard enough to hold fine detail and edge work without crumbling. some of the alabaster I buy I cant use as it is to soft, but it is good for other things. I dont know of anyone else in the world who carves arrowheads with the realism that I do. Flint knapping is an ancient skill that is used to make arrowheads, spearheads, ect. My hat is off to both ancient and modern flint knappers, thier work is very beautiful and I am glad there are people keeping the art of flintknapping alive. My work is not knapping but carving. I use a hacksaw to cut about a .312 slab of stone. Then I get it wet so I can see the true colors, banding and grain of the stone, then I will draw the outline of the point I want to carve on the slab. I can see how it will look when it is finished this way. I then use the hacksaw to cut the excess away, cutting it carefully so I can get other pieces out of the slab. Now I will use a 60 grit drum sand pad on a dremel to rough shape the symetery an