Kagamibuta (kind of) dogwood and grass

Dustin Clayton

O.K.,

This is something I've been working on (last weekend). Hopefully its going to be a kagamibuta netsuke (Iwas inspired by all the really wonderfull ones that Ford posted). 35 mm mild steel disk engraved with prairie grass. The dogwood leaf and branch is a raised inlay of shibuichi (my own homemade stuff) and copper.

Theres still a lot of work yet to do. I plan on starting the rust patination on the steel tonight. Once I have that done I'll refine the leaf a bit with polishing stones and then hopefully try some roshuko(?) on the non ferrous metals. then on to working on the rim and the bowl.

This is my first try at raised metal inlay. ive done a very little bit of line inlay and flush as well. All in all I dont think its going so bad. This is all hammer and chisel work. No electric tools (except my lamp). In my original design the leaf was not so centered, I must have been in a bit of a hurry to start cutting when I did the layout :D . The grasses are something I like and think I will explore further. Growing up in Nebraska I've always had a love for the prairie and would like to express that a bit more in my metal work.

Any way all comments questions and critiques are welcome. There are some really talented people on this forum and I value your opinions on my work and how I could Improve.

Thanks,

Dustin

post-1589-1203393050.jpg

Hi Dustin. Nicely done. A really good start. Somehow I missed seeing this earlier. :)

I very much like your treatment of the grasses which are a favorite of mine as well. Perhaps a few less parallel stalks with more crossing ones could add vitality and visual interest.

The inlay is very well done technically, but I would agree could be better placed.

Your engraving is nicely controlled and I would suggest even more variation in width, in the leaf veins for example.

The bevelled edge around the perimeter may look odd when you place it in the bowl.

Keep up the great work!