piece from last year

RUSS

Here is another piece I did with Clives help about a year ago......Buffalo horn, hippo tusk, ivory and shell for the starfish, not sure what type,,,,,,

Pleased at the time with many areas of the piece but now a year on the not so good parts seem to stand out like a sore thumb......

comments please >>>I have my head gear on and mouth piece in.... :rolleyes:

post-1670-1212192695.jpg

post-1670-1212192706.jpg

post-1670-1212192717.jpg

post-1670-1212192723.jpg

post-1670-1212192730.jpg

post-1670-1212192736.jpg

post-1670-1212192743.jpg

post-1670-1212192750.jpg

post-1670-1212192755.jpg

Hi Russ, hi all. I like your work, it's a nice mussel. When i was young , i worked at Arcachon ( Gironde, France), i was a oyster farmer, and often i saw mussels, but they were not so nice than yours, felicitations.

Hello Russ,

It is a real treat to see this piece, thank you for posting it. The combination of textures, of roughness, and smooth, shiny and not, give one much to look at. One element that pulls strongly on me is the tight bands of the closely cut grooves, perhaps indicating the layers of shell material. These irregular grooves are for me a little too undamaged, rather tight and causes my eye to move too quickly sideways with their movement. The smooth bands are "damaged" here and there and there is room for the eye to move up and down and around those spaces. The close banding of the tight grooves could have individual "layers" come and go, so to speak, broken off a little deeper than their neighbors in bits, either in an organized damage pattern with the smooth banding, or randomly, just enough to halt the swift horizontal eye movement. Also using the shiny and dull/rough combination, and tiny fractures... also to differentiate the gloss more from the shiny bands. You get to direct the viewer's eyes around this piece with such elements.