Newbie from Cornwall

Cornish Treespirit

Greetings from a miserable West Penwith. I have just spent the weekend at Carnglaze Caverns at a craft fair and was told about this website by a good friend of mine (Hi Dave). I have been carving Tree Spirits for about three years now and have just bought a bandsaw (clarke cbs355) to try other projects.

I have carved 8 large tree spirits which now surround a lake at my local (ish) Country Park near Camborne. I am looking forward to getting my teeth stuck into this forum and learning as much as possible from all you other folks. On that note does anyone have any suggestions for an easy bandsaw project?

Surprisingly I have just made a v tool a half round gouge, a veiner, and a straight chisel out of wood so I can do workshops with kids. My first workshop being in October. I've tried the tools out on a bar of soap and they work brilliantly. It's amazing what you can do with bits of dowling..

I shall post a few pics of my work when I've sorted out how to do that with my new camera.

All the best

Craig Harris; wood crafter

post-2-1215469452.jpg post-2-1215470715.jpg

Greetings from a miserable West Penwith. I have just spent the weekend at Carnglaze Caverns at a craft fair and was told about this website by a good friend of mine (Hi Dave). I have been carving Tree Spirits for about three years now and have just bought a bandsaw (clarke cbs355) to try other projects.

I have carved 8 large tree spirits which now surround a lake at my local (ish) Country Park near Camborne. I am looking forward to getting my teeth stuck into this forum and learning as much as possible from all you other folks. On that note does anyone have any suggestions for an easy bandsaw project?