howdies

megrim

Hello all.

I'm a 25 year old transplanted Icelander now living in Australia. I'm relatively new to carving. I've carved some amber over the years just for fun, though I've never sold a piece. I guess I carve for personal enjoyment. I recently nabbed some nice nephrite, and am trying my hand at it. I got meself a Dremel and more attachments than I'll ever need, and so far it's going pretty well, though I'm dreading getting to the polishing stage.

I took a quick look through the search function for info on jade carving, and didn't find much. But I'll take a better look a little later :rolleyes:. Looking foreward to learning and carving.

Sorry about the image quality, only have my little phone camera. I started this piece 2 days ago, my first ever go at jade. I'm not sure if I want to remove the recessed areas alltogether or leave them recessed and carve the rabbit figure up from a thinner, translucent backing. In the end I think I'll do whatever is easier to polish. :lol:

sized.jpg

Welcome to The Carving Path forum, megrim!

There is a little big about carving stone and jade here and there on the forum, and as I recall, some recent Q&A about jade. Keep trying with the SEARCH function.

I hope you will find good information here, and that others who know about jade will help to answer your questions.

Happy New Year to you!

Janel

Hello all.

I'm a 25 year old transplanted Icelander now living in Australia. I'm relatively new to carving. I've carved some amber over the years just for fun, though I've never sold a piece. I guess I carve for personal enjoyment. I recently nabbed some nice nephrite, and am trying my hand at it. I got meself a Dremel and more attachments than I'll ever need, and so far it's going pretty well, though I'm dreading getting to the polishing stage.