Hello from Havre, Montana, USA

JP Anderson

My name is John P. Anderson, one of a few million Andersons populating the world. I'm 50 and live in a rural area just outside Havre, Montana. I've been an artist for 20+ years but only gave it serious effort in the early years and again these past 3-4 years. I liked to illustrate and draw, with a background in pencil, pen and ink. I came to carving and engraving somewhat sideways.

I learned to draw in my late twenties after deciding to fill one of my college Humanities classes with Freehand Drawing 101. The instructor relished torturing students who thought they had taken an easy class. He was a great teacher and something finally clicked at the very end of the course. I could draw, not great but I had my moments.

In 2002 an old injury changed my life a bit. Life as I knew it, working and flying, was over and I needed new goals. I learned to love creating things when I built an airplane, so just drawing pictures wasn't fulfilling enough anymore. While searching for new creative outlets, I was drawn to the beauty of old black powder guns and other art of wood and metal. Airplanes were a way of life and this looked to be a good substitute.

I love the learning process and doubt I'll ever specialize. Commercial success isn't a goal. My goal is to build objects out of wood and metal while I enjoy learning new skills. Be it a new tool, box, knife or flintlock that I'm building, I try and do my very best. I often fall short of what I had in mind, but that's ok - if it were easy I wouldn't have enjoyed trying. I've enjoyed building almost all my tools and other accoutrements to the craft from scrap iron and discarded wood scraps.

I admit I find it intimidating to post with the master works I see on this forum. But I also feel art is best experienced if you participate as well as observe.