I have begun!

Janel

Hi all,

This week marks the beginning of a significant study period for me. Recently, at a regional meeting of woodturners I met Jim Sannerud, who is a woodturning teacher. With the assistance of the fellowship funds that has been made available to me, I am beginning an intense period of time focusing on learning woodturning technique with Jim as my teacher. I drive to Saint Paul, Minnesota three to four days a week for perhaps 3-4 weeks, spending 5-6 hours a day on the lathe, plus much more with discussion about the tools and machinery that should be part of a turner's shop. This will give me a solid background and much experience to draw upon when I begin to work at my studio on my own.

It is amazing to be taking lessons for the first time since the 1970's, to learn a skill that I hope to incorporate with new work in the years ahead. Everything else that I have done since those early years has been self-taught, and at a very slow pace of discovery. The first two days of lessons has impressed upon me how complicated woodturning is. It looks so simple and fun! I believe that it will be more simple with time and concentration, but right now, it feels very weird to be a beginner at something!

How using a lathe will tie into my work as a carver remains to be seen. I look forward to merging abilities with ideas in the years ahead. Meanwhile, I will work diligently to get beyond the rank of newbie, and to strive to bring my skills to a point where I can turn what it is that I want to use in combination with my carving.