Aesthetic Balance

Christine

Hi - I'm new here and Jim made a comment on my work that brings up something important to me that I'd love to hear more thoughts on from the group.

He said my carving of a pig had it's "cuteness in balance".

Balanced with what, though - Uglyness? Seriousness?? Corectness??? What could it be?

I've often struggled with this - what makes something appealing or pretty and still "good" craft or art?

I worked as a professional plush toy designer for seventeen years and my specialty was taking a drawing of the latest licenced character and turning it into a 3d cloth item that could be mass produced. I confess that rarely was I proud of my work as most of the current popular characters I found totally unapealing and sometimes just out 'n out appalling in their crass depictions of something designed to strickly move widgets.

I've often looked at my book on Japanese Netsuke or Ojime and just love the cartooned depictions of animals. Some seem very sweet and shall I say it, cute, to me. It does stir up those feelings of thinking something is precious, needing to be protected because it is more innocent and vulnerable.... Is it just that the time period and original meaning may be lost on me or did they really have more "class" (for lack of a better term)?

Penny for your thoughts, anyone?

Christine

Guest ford hallam

Hi there Christine,

I was quite intrigued when i saw your little pig, although i did`nt appreciate the tiny scale until i noticed your little puppy in your hand that you posted as an avatar. I don`t think I`d have suggested that the pig was cute at all, I think the way you rendered its head in particular took it away from any possible Disneyfication, if you know what i mean.