hello from plymouth

maciver

I’m an art student at pcad who has developed an interest in carving and its different aspects I’ve had some experience with wood carving (pine and hazel) which I kind of figured out as there’s no one at the collage with any knowledge on the subject I’ve already found this site really useful ;) and I was wondering if you have any advice for a complete novice, what materials would be a good starting base what tool would be worth getting ect I’m interested at looking at diffrent materials and techniques

Thanks

Hello maciver!

Welcome to The Carving Path forum!

The often recommended approach to answering your questions is to learn to use the SEARCH function at the top, right, area of the forum pages. Use good keywords, or refine the search with More Search Options. There are now four+ years of thoughtful communication about the tools that the members use, and the SEARCH results are varied and interesting to read. There is also an area pointing out some accumulated information in the Getting Started and Resources forum area.

Were is Plymouth and PCAD? We have an MCAD in Minneapolis, MN.

Welcome and enjoy learning! You have come to a friendly place and a good place to find answers to your questions.

Janel

pcad is plymouth collage of art and design in plymouth uk it has lecturers in most crafts and fieldeds except carving ;) and the only work thats done with woodcrafts is making frames, so im already consided an odity in my basic carvings i've been having a go at

thanks for advice :) i will spend as much time as i can spare reading the forums.

There's surprisingly little carving taught in the UK educational system, maciver, except by way of sculpting courses, and certainly nothing in miniature carving. Chichester CAD is the nearest to you, I think, where sculpting is taught; you might be able to make helpful contacts/friends there, perhaps.

Hey, wait a minute!