Bare Carving Tools???

RVM45

I'm new to carving.

I believe that my main emphasis is going to be Bone Carving; gradually branching out into antler; horn; and eventually Ivory.

(This in turn, began as a simple desire to make some bone grips for a few Guns...)

I notice that the vast bulk of cutters; chisels; gouges; knives; etc. are entirely too big to be of much use on bone. That's well and good--saves me from having to buy nearly so many tools...

What I would like though; is to be able to buy some bare iron tools; and make my own handles--wood; bone; horn; antler--whatever.

I see very few like that--in fact only one set--mainly intended for a reciprocating power carver; but also usable in adjustable handles...

And one set of small chisels that I really liked, came with their own clumsy Cherry wood handles. While the handles were clumsy and clunky--to my point of view...

Cherry deserves a certain amount of respect--not to be split off the blade; and cast into the nearest trash receptical...

So anyway, can anyone turn me onto a good set of handleless tools?

.....RVM45 B):)B)

I'm new to carving.

I believe that my main emphasis is going to be Bone Carving; gradually branching out into antler; horn; and eventually Ivory.

(This in turn, began as a simple desire to make some bone grips for a few Guns...)

I notice that the vast bulk of cutters; chisels; gouges; knives; etc. are entirely too big to be of much use on bone. That's well and good--saves me from having to buy nearly so many tools...

What I would like though; is to be able to buy some bare iron tools; and make my own handles--wood; bone; horn; antler--whatever.

I see very few like that--in fact only one set--mainly intended for a reciprocating power carver; but also usable in adjustable handles...

And one set of small chisels that I really liked, came with their own clumsy Cherry wood handles. While the handles were clumsy and clunky--to my point of view...