Recent work in bone

Brent Duty

Here are a few pieces that I've been working on lately. I'm still a novice and wouldn't mind some critique if you have the time.

I used a tea stain mixed with whitening first with peroxide. The whole shank was stained before cutting out. I love how sometimes a stain can have unexpected results. This hook is a Hawaiian design that was done originally in what looks to be sea turtle shell. It was in the Bishop Museum on Oahu.

post-1679-1239483898.jpg

post-1679-1239483913.jpg

This is a classic Makau (Hawaiian Hook) design a gentleman had tattooed on his arm and wanted a real hook to match.

I whitened it with peroxide and I dipped it in mineral oil to give it an ivory look.

post-1679-1239483953.jpg

post-1679-1239483964.jpg

post-1679-1239483978.jpg

post-1679-1239483988.jpg

This design was supposed to have a wave and two dolphins with a Kanji symbol in it. It was a bit difficult for me because I usually make just one piece and making an identical piece tested my skill a bit. Also it took the customer a week to decide whether to trust me with the wave and sense the drawing is always different than the actual carved piece. I was slightly irritated at the notion that I didn't know how to draw a wave correctly. Slightly because I've been a surfer for 15+ years and have been marking up desks with visions of waves since I was able to hold a pencil.

post-1679-1239484013.jpg

post-1679-1239484025.jpg

post-1679-1239484039.jpg

This a Koru (Maori fern) that was made for my wife's friend who had just had a baby. It was an accident that I ended up incorporating wood into the piece. I wanted to give it more thickness and I had just received some wood from a good friend and knife maker Dan Mink.