Creating the Knotted Ridge Lashing

Paniolo

Hopefully I've done this right and the picture of my attempt at a knotted ridge lashing shows up somewhere in this post. This is my first posting since joining the forum and I'm fairly new at bone carving so forgive me if I haven't got everything right yet. I did my best to create a knotted ridge lashing following the instructions in the Myhre book as best I could. As you can see, my knotted ridge ended up looking more like a bi-directional wrap than a ridge. For any members who have mastered this lashing technique, is there actually a knot involved with each wrap and if so, what sort of knot is it? The illustration in the Myhre book doesn't seem to indicate an actual knot at each wrap but somehow the knot magically appears in the photos at the end of the job! Can anyone share that magic with me?

post-2092-1239793212.jpg

Hi Paniolo,

Thanks for resizing your photo. It helps. I wonder if while you were doing the lashing if you were untwisting the twist of the cord, or is the cord that you were using a flat cord, or loosely twisted to begin with? Having a look at the link that Brent posted above, the CoffeeWaffle cord looks a bit untwisted too. The photos and illustrations on that blog look like really helpful instructions. I hope that they help you figure it out!

Janel

• 4 weeks later...

Hey Paniolo.

I'm new to carving too and I'm trying to work out all about these traditional style lashings. What material did you use? I've been looking around and found that waxed braid or beeswax nylon is what seems to be the best. Your lashings look good, have you found anything that shows how to do the ones i the picture i have attached. It seems to be a hard topic to find out about.

All the best,

Damien

post-2160-1242267782.jpg

Thank you all for your suggestions.