STRAWBERRY BOTTLE STOPPER

schooner

Hi Guys & Gals (Newbie Here :rolleyes: )

I have a few carvings under my belt and I'm pretty satisfied with 'em.

My lovely wife asked me to carve a Strawberry Bottle Stopper for the many: Vingar, Oil, etc,etc bottles we have.

I got the leaves on top and the general shape (Rough-out now) However, I'd like to carve SEEDS into the berry :blush: and then paint it. Green for the leaves and red of course for the Strawberry.

But those dorn SEEDS :(

What you take on any IDEAS to plant those SEEDS into the berry.

Thank You ALL

GOD BLESS

Schooner B)

• 3 weeks later...

Hi Schooner,

Sorry, I am a bit late noticing this one again. The week you wrote this question was a very busy week for me.

I don't quite understand what your question is, but are you asking how any of us might carve the seeds of the strawberry? Have you figured it out for yourself yet?

strawberry.jpg

If I were to carve a strawberry, I would consider it a challenging task to carve each seed in the indent. You might be able to make a sort of stamp tool that has a seed shaped hollow in it, and press or tap the indent/seed shape into the wood at seed-like intervals. You may need to smooth edges a bit to look more fruit and life-like after the stamping process.

If I were to use boxwood, a very hard wood, I might try making an ukibori tool stamp for the seed shape alone, carve shallow indents where the seeds go, press in the seed-shaped, ukibori stamp, then carve out each indent to the bottom of the stamp. Sand or steel wool the surface gently, then raise the grain with hot water, followed with gentle sanding or surface smoothing with a sanding pad. Knowing me, I may then accentuate each seed a little with a tool (details, details).

Have you already come up with a solution to your quest?

Janel

Hi Schooner,

Sorry, I am a bit late noticing this one again. The week you wrote this question was a very busy week for me.