New to a forumof any kind

rockhunter

Hi my name is John

I usually carve in wood or gems. Sorry if I mess up in using the computer so please bear with me.I am a pilot, a scuba diver , which I don't do anymore because of age.I however do still cut gems and carve them, also woodcarve, and sometimes scrimshaw in ivory. Enjoy the desert where i live and go on hikes, while looking for stones.

Hi Rockhunter:

I, too, carve gemstones. I also carve wood, tongua nuts, bone and tusk. Look at my posting in Who's Who in February around the 5th. I am not very internet literate and don't know how to insert a link. It took me hours to figure out how to put up the photo.

I also work in metal, primarily to set the stones that I've carved. What part of the world are you in and what kind of rocks are you finding? I'm in Houston, Texas so I have to buy most of what I carve.

Good luck and good carving.

Debbie K.

Hi Rockhunter:

I, too, carve gemstones. I also carve wood, tongua nuts, bone and tusk. Look at my posting in Who's Who in February around the 5th. I am not very internet literate and don't know how to insert a link. It took me hours to figure out how to put up the photo.

I also work in metal, primarily to set the stones that I've carved. What part of the world are you in and what kind of rocks are you finding? I'm in Houston, Texas so I have to buy most of what I carve.

Good luck and good carving.

Debbie K.

Hi Debbie

I'm in T or C NM, just past El Paso Tx. and north about an hour on I 25. I carve imperial jasper, oregon sunstone, some ice cream opal, and a few other stones.Maybe when i figure out how to put a photo on thing here i'll do it. I just took a class in silver smithing so I can set a few of the stones I have faceted. I picked up a lot of my supply of stones while i was traveling in a fifth wheel trailor.

Hi rockhunter,

I see you're a pilot too. Fixed or rotorwing? I'm a heli pilot here in California. Welcome to the forum!!

Damien