New Kiwi onboard

Billy

Hi everybody. Great to be part of this site and look forward to learning, and sharing, as much as i can.

I've been carving for about 4 years now, and growing up in a predominantly Maori neighbourhood, and with strong family ties to the iwi (tribes) Ngapuhi and Ngati Toarangatira, my interest in New Zealand and Maori arts and culture was inevitable.

An Art Director and Graphic Designer by trade, I use those skills with a cultural influence to create traditional and contemporary carvings for display and adornment. I like to work in many mediums, preferring more traditional materials like whalebone when available, but happy working in antler, beef bone and other ivory. I’m also looking forward to moving into Pounamu (Greenstone or New Zealand Jadite) and Jade in the not so distant future.

For my carvings, I look into our history for inspiration, and our environment for guidance. I’m driven by the wonderful talent that resides in our local artists, brought out through their own heritage and culture. I'm sure I will find much influence from many of you as well.

I hope to talk to you all soon. I've included a couple of pieces to share.

Thanks, Billy

post-2181-1244758078.jpg

post-2181-1244758091.jpg

post-2181-1244758098.jpg

post-2181-1244758105.jpg

post-2181-1244758111.jpg

post-2181-1244758117.jpg

Welcome to The carving Path forum!

Thank you for the great introduction and the photos. I find the way you have lashed the carved pieces to the cord to be an interesting technique and decorative element. I like the second piece very much for its elegance and simplicity, while showing off the material.

Janel

Kia ora. Thanks guys for you welcome and kind words.