How did you get into carving? An interesting story?

Billy

Hi everybody.

Just for something different. Before I started carving, I still had great interest in New Zealand history. As a keen artist, I used to replicate paintings by Charles F. Goldie using pointalistic techniques with a fine rotring pen. Pretty much an illustration made of dots.

These pictures used to take me months. And when each one was complete, I used to give them away to people who had looked after me or my family in some way.

I loved the feeling I got from giving these pictures away, but because they took so long, the feeling was few and far between.

That's when I started thinking what I could do that didn't take so long, yet still had a distinctly NZ feel to it. I was living in Australia at the time and was keen to express my heritage.

And that's how I got into carving. And what a life-changing pastime it has turned out to be.

I've attached my last illustration. I hope it's not my last, but the spare time is getting scarcer.

How did you get into carving?

Haere rā, Billy

post-2181-1245269478.jpg

Hello fellow carvers, my name is Steve and I have a carving addiction. I can't help look at an animal and wonder what its bone would be like to carve. I want to learn, and try everything, so that I might create something worthwhile.