Ivory Restoration

Janel

I received this inquiry today and hope that there will be some help for this project. I did send this inquiry message to several artists who might know some answers, but I hope that some of the knowledge will also be shared here. I added my response below, but I have no experience with ivory restoration, so my thoughts are only that, not experienced advice.

The inquiry:

Dear Janel,

I hope this email makes it way into your hands. I got your address from a

three-year-old posting on "The Carving Path" forum.

I'm a retired American woodworker/restorer living on the northeast coast of Brazil.

Restoration work does not lack here, but I was recently handed a real challenge:

restore a small picture frame, approximately 9" x 9", inlaid with ivory. I suspect

the ivory was cut from piano keys. Let me put the matter frankly before you: it's

driving me nuts! I can't get it clean.

The ivory has numerous amber-colored stains and spots of grayish mold as you can see

in the HUGE file photo I sent you. The amber stain, I'm certain, came from the

underlying wood frame, which got wet and leeched "something" into the ivory (tannic

acid?). The gray mold staining, of course, needs no explaining.

There apparently was no effort made to seal the wood prior to gluing the ivory onto

it. The artist just plopped the inlay right onto the wood and held it in place with

what appears to be some kind of crummy horse glue. When lightly moistened, the

individual ivory pieces are easily lifted from the wood base.

At this point I've tried about everything: milk, lemon juice, salt, sanding,

exposure to sun, ethyl alcohol, immersion in turpentine, harsh language and etc.,

etc., etc.. Nothing is working very well.

All of this to say that I think it might be time to drag out the big gun: boiling

the ivory. And this is really why I'm writing you. I took a small piece of the

stained ivory and boiled it for about fifteen seconds in Chlorox. It definitely