Mirror mirror on my desk...

Guest Clive

Back in the decades when I made pottery for a living, I used a mirror set at a level and an angle that would give me a profile view of the pot on the wheel at a quick glance. It was very helpful to get a different perspective on the piece at hand. I had not thought about the usefulness while carving, though it makes sense. When something does not feel right when a piece is right side up, turn it upside down to remove the familiarity with the expected. Visual movement, balance and what ever else one sees changes, which helps the critical eye discover what needs doing.

Now Clive, if that is not what you meant about "what does my work really look like?"... as in..."does anyone know what my work looks like?"... the mirror image is lost in the haze of my misunderstanding.

Janel

Guest Clive

Gee wizz.... some folks are just soooooo suspicious :(:lol:, surely if I wanted to make some profound comment on the nature of the relationship we have with our work I'd have said something to that effect. :rolleyes:

Warmest Regards Sweatie... (you just know me too well :(:lol: )

Clive

Guest ford hallam

,Warmest Regards Sweatie... (you just know me too well :lol::lol: )

Clive

Hey Bro,

Are you suggesting that Janel perspires over much, ( sweatie ), that`s not very gentlemanly, whaa! Gobole. :rolleyes:

Actually, i was rereading some of my posts over the last few days and was appalled at the odd ( very ) slip ups in that regard. I guess It`s a consequence of thinking too fast..... :(

I agree, Janel, viewing something in a mirror image does obviously present an alternative view but I wonder if we don`t have a natural tendency to arrange things/compositions etc in a way that reflects the left / right divide of the brain. Is it possible that we express particular tendencies in aesthetic desicions in this regard, and that by inverting them it in effect produces its antithisis? :( aarg! my brain hurts.