Alternate Ivory and other questions

sebastiaan56

Good morning everyone,

As Ive stated I am new to carving and am not sure where the norms are on the forum, but Im not willing to splash on big dollars for materials till I have a better idea of what Im doing. Has anyone used these kinds of alternate materials? Any hints or tips to offer? I have aquired some from GPS Agencies through a sub agency here in Australia. It seems easy enough to work.

Im planning a Buddha head as a place to start and am modelling it in plasticine. Ive been very interested in the conversations about originality and copying of work and am now curious where the lines are. I am assuming that such a figure would be in the public domain but would value some comments as as a beginner I feel the need to copy till I am a bit more competent.

I think most people on this forum would agree that there is little point in carving plastics, under whichever name they are marketed. The bottom line is that plastics can be cast, and if you want a really good finish, just add a bit of finishing work to the cast, that is more or less finished, anyway.

As a teaching method it also is not recommended very much, as each material has its own idiosyncrecies, and none of these resemble ivory much in working properties.

When it comes to really learning about working with ivory, you can't beat bone. The actual material is very similar to ivory, the biggest difference being the presence in bone of errm, can't recall th name capillary tubes. They are the ones that carry bloof inside the bone, and they are the ones that as the bone ages become visible as tiny black lines. Different bones and different areas from the same bone have a differing amount of these. For example deer bones have areas practically devoid of it, while on some parts of cowbone they are very much in evidence.