.. More Umimatsu Pics

Guest Clive

OK.. As requested some more pics illustrating the "classic" black umimatsu often seen in antique Japanese pieces and its comparison with some other black corals in their raw state.

1. First.. A piece of the classic umi and below it the more common black coral below.. notice the little red flecks on the former and difference in surface texture.

2. A close up of the classic

3. Even closer.. notice the red flecks.

4. An end view.. notice the small red brown lines

5. A view of the "standard" black and the "classic" when polished.. you see totally different materials!!

6. Some other black corals..

7. and a piece with its base.. I've been mulling over this piece for a few years waiting for a suitable subject that incorporates the base material.

To help flesh out this look at umimatsu, I invite members to add any pictures of pieces using umimatsu, old or new that you have or find.

post-2059-1252844355.jpg

post-2059-1252844714.jpg

post-2059-1252844812.jpg

post-2059-1252845098.jpg

post-2059-1252845116.jpg

post-2059-1252845627.jpg

post-2059-1252845916.jpg

Thanks Freda.. one of the points I'm trying to get across is that there are a number of closely related but different species all commonly refered to as umimatsu, each with different characteristics.. there is also patina that changes the appearence of umimatsu over time.. some species become more translucant others much darker.

I found this Kanman netsuke picture on this site. http://www.internetsuke.com/insarchive/key/Cicada

There are lots of more pictures of umimatsu neysuke.

I personaly find this the most beautifull netsuke I know of (Next to the Meinertzhagen Kirin.)

post-142-1252861191.jpg

Here are two antique Umimatsu pieces from my small collection. A Kizeruzutsu and a very worn Hotei netsuke.

post-142-1252861198.jpg

post-142-1252861212.jpg

Ko

I personaly find this the most beautifull netsuke I know of (Next to the Meinertzhagen Kirin.)