Dying for Life

toscano

Hello all,

I have caught myself thinking about dyes a lot recently and I decided to try to disentangle my thoughts by sharing them here.

My medium of preference is generally wood. I spend at least as much time doing woodworking (cabinetry etc) as I do on carving. The style of the pieces I create (and dream of) is mainly influenced by Japanese traditions. This is true for both woodworking and carving. Because of this, and because of my fondness for the look of wood, I have NO experience with stains, paints or any type of dye, whatsoever. I finish pretty much everything I do with a some oil and let time do its thing.

It was not until I saw some of Janel's more colourful pieces (e.g. the piece part of which forms her avatar) that I even considered the application of a stain to approximate the natural colour of the subject. Initially, I was reluctant to accept it, deciding instead that it lacked subtlety. I loved Janel's work, though, which made the whole matter even more confusing. Part of my reluctance, I suppose, also stems from my inexperience with the processes involved, making the whole thing terrifying to me! It was not an easy thing for me to just try out on a piece or two, and see whether I would reevaluate my opinion on the appearance of wood.