New carver from Australia

Naomi Oliver

Hi ,

I am new to the world of carving.

in 2005 I majored in sculpture stone carving in my diploma of visual arts,

then went onto to importing 4 tonnes of carving stone from canada.

That gave me a good grounding and alot of material to carve small to medium sized sculptures.

Then in 2007 I stared downsizing my carvings ,

I travelled to the north Island of New Zealand to learn to carve bone Maori pendants,

then in 2008 I went to jade territory in the south island, and learnt to carve wearable art ,

and small carvings no larger than 6 cms,

from the medium of hard stones , ie jasper , and Nephrite ( jade).

I have the time and now the tools and the stone , ( plus local hardwoods) , antler , and bone , to start carving

small sculptures.

I first saw netsuke artwork made by Janel jacobson while researching in 2008, and totally was blown away by it.

While collecting natural items around me I always pick up the most intricate and detailed items( I used to drive my local bushwalking group guides crazy, while out walking to a timetable I ' d be stopped by a tiny mushroom , or lizard, on the trail

I just had to pause and catch all that wonder, that was twenty years ago, Now I just drive my hubby crazy, bringing home natural items such as shell and nuts and local stones... at least I now have my own workspace, where I am allowed to store these precious items carefully), This is starting to influence my art as I love doing texture to my artworks .

I do love chatting .We live in the mountainous regions of east Victoria. I have also lived in the desert regions of Northern Western australia, and the coastal regions of tropical North Quennsland, and even Papua New Guinea.

I hope to depict the natural fauna and flora of these regions (that I love so much ) in minuture carvings.

I have a wide range of colours in my hardstones, so to ask the question of this topic, can netsukes be made predominately