a newbie request

cgb

i would like to request of every carver here to upload a pic or really detailed description of your tool you chose above any other and use the most. i am working on a project and being a newbie i have not yet found my shortlist of tools to make for myself. will upload my project pictures after completion thank you all for your help.

C

Hello cgb,

Welcome to The Carving Path. Spend some time surfing this forum. I guarantee that you will learn a lot.

A carving goes through four basic steps: making a blank, rough carving, detail carving, and finishing. There are tools used for each step; therefore, most carvers have a set of tools rather than one that they use. This set evolves over time and some tools are in the top drawer where they are always available and others wind up in the box at the bottom of a closet. The key to selecting a tool is to do some homework before buying and always get the best tool you can afford.

There are a number of Threads (e.g. series of posts on one topic) in the Tools & Technical section that you might find useful. Here are a few you will find helpful. Click on the underline text to transfer to that thread.

work area

favorite tools

favorite burrs

riffler files

Again welcome to The Carving Path and have fun carving.

E George

this line of response is not being very helpful to someone that is trying.

Twas a little humour Mark along with some good intentions I am sure.

Not meant to insult.

E.George, agreed, good response.

Although some hand tools either home made or boughten end up being favorites in certain stages of a variety of works.

If you find a tool you have purchased that works very well for you cgb, I suggest you purchase a few more before they disapear from the market.

Sometimes you will find one that is in a garage sale or such and are just not replaceable.