Fighting Bantams

Natasha

Wow! There is so much air between the feathers, making carving of this one hugely challenging. Will wondered if you have chickens to look at. The pale coloration compliments the ivory and does not cause a distraction from the animation of the bantams, who can be startlingly colored. Thank you for posting!

Janel

My dear Friends, thank You all very much! Your opinions give me a lot of inspiration! :)

Jim, You asked me about the sketch of this netsuke, here it is!

I've never done any model before carving, I would prefer to carve without any sketch, but my collectors want to know what they'll get before it'll be carved! That's why I draw these sketches!

post-215-1265309136.jpg

Yes, Jim! :) You understood right!

A bigger part of my sculptures, a couple of my netsuke and medalions were carved without any drafts! But usually my collectors want to see drafts! ;)

When I began to carve and had no orders, I didn't draw any drafts, just some newest sculptures had drafts, my drafts are more how right we understand each other, I mean me and my collector! English is not my native language, that's why I want to be understood right by my collector what I want to carve for him! :) Very seldom my collectors give any additions, usually my first draft is always lucky for my collectors!

Hans, your words mean a lot for me! Thank You for your compliment!

I've just looked at your site and I'm so astonished by your wonderful work!!!! You are jeweler and gemcutter!!!!!!!! Fantastic! I so like your works! So interesting cut stones!

My very best wishes to You!

Natasha,

Your new piece is absolutely beautiful!

I like to work this way too, without using a model of sketch, but more often than not, I have to produce either a sketch, or a model, as you say, for the client to approve. It is a great way to work, very free.

Again, thank you for posting the latest photos of your exceptionally beautiful work!

Very inspiring.

Phil

Dear beautiful Nutasha