Island Recluse checking in :)

Tani Guerin

Hello :blush:

I never really know what to say in introductions as most things that come to mind are pretty superficial. I'm female and European, but maybe just saying what gives me the most pleasure will best describe me.

By choice I don't have most things other people can't seem to do without, but have everything I need to make me happy. A wonderful daughter, much-loved cyberfriends, solitude, the freedom to do exactly as I please, and nature all around me. Took me many years and a lot of mistakes to discover what I needed for contentment, and it wasn't in other people. It was here inside me and waiting to be reunited with the only place I ever connected with. I just needed to come back to my home island and let go of all the things that were hiding that from me :blink:

I'm not an artist but have done art and freehand drawing for most of my life. Give it all away or barter it as soon as it's done as I lose interest once it's finished. Do it for love of the feeling I get while doing it, that's all.

I've wanted to learn how to carve for many years and now I have the time and peace of mind to begin :)

I would like to concentrate on learning to carve Netsuke in wood. But first I have to learn the basics of carving. I'll be teaching myself, so the process will be slow, but I don't mind.

There's no set time limit and I won't be selling anything, so I expect to take many years before I produce anything worth posting here (or giving away), but I know how hard it is I want to do it the old-fashioned hard way i.e. hand tools only.

I'll try to find out as much as I can from books, but will still need to ask a lot of questions.