Beef Bone Barramundi

laz

This is about my fourth attempt at bone carving I'm self taught .It's a bit primitive ( there is a few things wrong with it) not up to the standards i see on this forum but the main thing is i enjoyed doing it and learnt a few things as i went along . post-2436-1270874588.jpg

Laz,

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

If you think something is wrong with it, then there is.

If you feel you took it as far as you could, then there it is.

If you have learned, and feel you will do better at your next project, you no doubt will.

Perhaps I am a man with simple taste, or an open mind.

But I think your piece is as unique as any other, and will hold it's own rewards. If you keep it, or sell it, or give it away , "it" will always be a treasure to someone.

What more could anyone ask for.

Bill

Hi Laz,

I don't see anything here I would call wrong - there is nothing wrong with "primitive", stylized or simple. This fish has a lot to offer. I especially like the overall shape and the feeling of movement I get from the body. No doubt your work will progress in many ways as you continue - as long as you have a vision your hands will learn follow it. Thank you for posting.

I'll be looking forward to seeing more of your work.

~Magnus~

Looks good to me. Nice finish. I have trouble with that.

John

G'day John thanks for your reply.If by finish you mean polish all i used to finish / polish the Barramundi carving was a metal polish called Brasso not sure if its available in America .

Laurence

Hi laz,

Thank you for posting the photo. What are the things you see as wrong with this bone carving? What would you do differently next time?

Janel