hello from an englishman carving jade in china

andrew S

Hi there. I am a recent member. This is my first post to introduce myself. I from London but moved to China three years ago to learn how to carve jade. Jade is my passion and the simple idea of learning to carve in the heartland of the stone of heaven seemed simple enough. It didn't turn out that way. I have been studying chinese at university here for two years as well. The only way I could be accepted into a traditional jade carving community was to learn to speak the language as mnot one of the 200 or so jade carvers has more than a smattering of english. So I can now converse quite freely in chinese on the subject of carving jade but don't have the vocabulary to do so in English. Go figure. I am going to New Zealand for a week in January to see how its done there during the university holiday. My carving so far is pretty basic. The tools we use are very rudimentary. I don't even know their english names. Here is a piece I am in the middle of carving. Every carving in China has a meaning. This one is a play on words. Si Ji Dou You Qian. Si Ji Dou is a type of bean but it also means the Four seasons of Spring, Summer, Autumn and Winter. You Qian means "have money". So the meaning of a carving of beans with a string of chinese coins on top is the wish that you will have money all year round. A nice thought.( I have added the photo as an attachment as i cant remember where to find the url.)

post-2492-1288618384.png

Hello Andrew,

You have made a tremendous commitment to learn about both jade carving and Chinese language! What is also remarkable is that you are learning about the cultural heritage and meaning of each composition or subject.

Posting photos, or attaching them, directly on the forum is a good idea, since remote storage makes the images vulnerable if anything changes, as in, the photos would no longer be available for viewing on the forum.

Welcome! Thank you for introducing yourself.

Janel