Hello from San Francisco

Bob M

Greetings everyone - My name is Bob, and I'm glad to discover and join this forum.

I've been carving wood and stone/gemstones, painting, metal smithing, and doing a variety of art media (in addition to jazz music and composition) for many years.

Eager to learn more about the works of others.

Here's some of mine, humbly offered:

"Reefscape", internal quartz microsculpture, 1.5x2.5":

post-2723-1290483442.jpg

"Stegosaurus", internal quartz microsculpture, 1x2":

post-2723-1290483670.jpg

Warm regards, Bob

bob,glad you joined us.there are quite a few of us on here that carve gemstones.i have been carving gemstones since 1968 and now getting to old to do much carving.i still carve a piece now and then but now i don't have but two gears-slow and slower.i love to see the work of the carvers on here and it looks like you do some fine work.welcome and best regards,kenneth neaves

bob,i always think of something else after i have already posted my message.i am not much good with a computer.i meant to tell you that if i can help you in any way let me know.i live in the mountains of north carolina near where a lot of gemstones are found and it used to be a lot of fun to hunt them when i was younger.best regards,kenneth neaves

Bob:

Welcome to the Forum! I'm always glad to see another gemstone carver here, always hoping that I'll learn some new tricks.

The reef carving is beautiful, can't make out all the detail of the stegosaurus. I'm assuming that these are intaglio carvings, am I correct?

Are you making your own carving tools to work this small? I have used pins, needles, toothpicks and rod with diamond powder when working on things this small. I'm always curious about what others are doing.

I've never done intaglio, but I do have a highly fractured topaz that I have considered using this technique on. I'm afraid that if I don't leave most of the stone intact it could fall apart.