Is this Mayan or Olmec Jade?

chris-c

Hi all, I'm new here, (in case you didn't read my greetings in the introduction thread!) and I have some jade I acquired from an associate of mine in Honduras who supplies me with Honduran black matrix opal, but unfortunately, I haven't been able to contact him to ask what "specific" kind of jade it is.

I'm "guessing" because of the area where he lives, and also since all the stone sent to me was from Guatemala, Nicaragua and Honduras that this too is also indigenous to the area, and is most likely local jade to that area, but "where" exactly I am not sure.

There are a couple different types, green in a couple different varieties, and what looks like "black" jade, but I am wondering if maybe the dark jade is what they call "Olmec blue" jade, or if it is simple SO dark green that it appears black, or, if it is "actually" known as black jade.

Since I'm not an expert on jade, and specialize in many other stones BUT jade, I really don't know much about the specific identification, other than the only TRUE way to tell if it is nephrite or jadeite is to test the specific gravity or light spectrum, (neither of which I can at the moment), and I am aware that to the naked eye, it's kinda hard to really tell for sure just by looking, but I was hoping that maybe someone here might have enough experience with this material that they "are" able to tell via a visual inspection.

Here are a few pics, hopefully someone here can tell me for sure what "exact" kind of central American jade this is, if not, no worries, just thought I'd ask!

Chris ;)

I've wet them a bit in some of the pics as they are rough, and also included a few closeups of the material so the grain of the stone is visible.

jade-1.jpg

jade-2.jpg

jade-3.jpg

jade-4.jpg

jade-5.jpg

jade-6.jpg

jade-7.jpg

jade-8.jpg

jade-9.jpg

jade-10.jpg

jade-11.jpg

Chris,