Hello from a Wildlife Carver in California

Pete V.

Hi,

Just joined the Forum.

My focus is on Wildlife Carving and Sculptures. The subjects are countless and I find each of them has a different personality.

Most of my carvings are life size. I am a retired engineer and don't want to buzz the numbers converting from life size to smaller scales anymore for the proportions of each subject.

I mostly carve as I see them using photo's as my primary reference and have never used a pattern.

Hope to share tips and encouragement with others who enjoy the feel of wood and the possibilities to release the creature within.

Pete V.

bearcrvr1@aol.com

www.bearvalleysculptures.com

Screech Owl carving

post-2754-1293913044.gif

pete,very nice carving.i used to do some wood carving many years ago,mostly animals and gunstocks.welcome to the forum and best regards,kenneth neaves

Thanks for your comments Kenneth. But I take exception to that phrase "used to do some wood carving".

Don't quit, get those tools out, grab a chunk of wood and just cut off anything that doesn't look like a bird.

Have a great new year,

Pete V.

Pete,

Welcome to the forum. The posted carving is wonderful!

I think I have seen your work online, do you have a website or is your work on a website.

All my best ............ Danny

Danny,

I do have a website and would appreciate any comments you may have after viewing it.

It is my 1st attempt at website programming. I wanted to have control of the site and make my own changes as needed.

Thanks,

Pete

http://www.bearvalleysculptures.com

Pete,

I knew I had seen your work as soon as I saw the image you posted. I had been to your site ....... No clues who or what directed me there ........ Getting old and the memory is not what it used to be.