Greetings from northern California

Quinn

Hello everybody. I'm glad to have found this forum and to see that there are a lot of very talented artists posting on here. I'm very new to carving but have already decided that it is something I love. I have been hand mining quartz crystals, fluorite crystals, rainbow obsidian, agates, etc... from northern California and Nevada for about 10 years now, which led me to choose Geology as my field of study when I began college at C.S.U. Chico. About a year ago I obtained my M.S. in Geology. Since graduating I've been looking for work with very little luck. To get by I've been selling rainbow obsidian on ebay which I hand mined from a particular vein in Davis Creek that is producing some extremely high quality rainbow. My goal is to become adept at carving obsidian. I know it's one of the more difficult stones to work with because it has a tendency to micro-fracture more easily than other material, and it seems to me that it's difficult to obtain a perfect polish on. But the results of carving it correctly are, in my opinion, truly amazing. I've managed to mostly finish a few small carving projects but have yet to achieve a perfect polish with the obsidian or with quartz. Quartz is the other material that I primarily want to work with because I've done a lot of quartz collecting over the years and have some really nice amethyst, citrine, smoky, chlorite phantoms, etc... which would make excellent carvings if I can get the techniques down. I'm really looking forward to communicating with people here and, most of all, learning. I have lots of rainbow obsidian and would be willing to trade material to people who can help me out by providing me information, links, etc... whatever might help me learn quicker.

-Quinn Street

Welcome to the forum.