Sign in to follow this  
Maha

Drilling Holes In Greenstone / Jade

HI everyone Im back ben busy with studies and my camera is broken but the good news is they have stone carving equipment where Im studying so Ive Just started carving New Zealand Greenstone-Pounamu still cant figure out how to drill holes in it have tryed but fractures when drill bit comes through other side bit messy -

What are the best shaped drill bits - cylindrical

-or ball point ones

I am using water but what is the best drill press speed 300rpms enough?

I have managed to Acheive a satin finish with 800grit wet and dry sandpaper any tips on how to get more shine

Thanx in Advance I hope to get some pics up soon have done 2 so far

Kia ora koutou

when i am drilling a hole in a gemstone i put a slab of gemstone or glass behind what i am drilling to keep the drill from breaking out a chunk.if you are using a drill press put the piece of flat glass or gemstone slab beneath the piece you are drilling and it should help.most of what i drill i chuck the drill bit in my handpiece and hold the stone in my hand,when i see a cloudy spot on the other side where the bit is about to come through i drill from the other side,this helps to prevent the bit from blowing out a chunk.best regards,kenneth neaves

Maha,

If you go to this webpage it is on my website http://www.lopacki.com/howto/. It is a article that I wrote for Lapidary Journal in the mid nineties. It is on stone bead making but I get into drilling techniques about half way down the page. I think if you read the part about drilling it will be very helpful, you will notice that I also use a piece of stone as a backup to keep from getting a pressure fracture when the drill comes through the back of the piece being drilled.