Aloha From Big Island , Hawaii

Jay Brewer

Hey everyone , my name is Jay and it is a great pleasure to have finally found a place to meet fellow artist's and hobbyists.I am looking forward to making new friends and learning new techniques.I have been carving stone since 2003 but mainly local basalt found here in the islands. The basalt I work with is very very dense and polishes up to a beautiful black luster.I have not had the opportunity to carve gem stone yet but am looking forward to acquiring some soon.

I am interested in finding new and possibly easier methods on manipulating this stone I work with on both roughing and polishing. Any ideas or advice will be greatly appreciated and if at all possible , I would be more then happy to send a sample of this stone to an experienced sculptor so WE can determine the best method possible to attack it. Thanks for having me as a member. Aloha.

Jay:

I have never carved basalt, but I have carved many other rocks. From what I read about basalt's composition, it is a composite stone with plagioclase, feldspar and quartz as it's primary components. Stones with varying hardness always pose an issue when trying to polish.

The only thing that I can offer is that jade and llanite pose the same problems. I have found that using a hard wood or brass with diamond powder and oil give the best results. Making your own polishing wheels is easy; just get some hardwood dowel at your local home improvement store, saw off a slice and drill a hole in the center, super glue either a piece of dowel or a broken drill bit (break off the drill section and glue the smooth part into your wheel)that will fit in you flex shaft or rotary tool, and spray with glue activator. I put super glue on two-three times and activate after every application, especially when gluing wood to the drill bits. I then use oil and diamond powder of varying grits to polish.