Hello From The Uk

sharry t

Hello Everybody

After lurking for a few weeks, I've finally joined your wonderful forum to try and get some advice and direction over the coming months. My 'day job' is as a model maker and celebration topper sculptor (weddings, birthdays etc) and I'm really interested in trying my hand at stone carving. I've got a few basic tools, some I already owned, some I've just bought along with some soapstone. I'm hoping to start carving in the next few days while I have a bit of free time.

Eventually, I want to try and put some pics of my WIP's on here and get your advice. I have no experience at carving and I'm self taught as an additive sculptor so I'm sure I'll need plenty of advice. I'll post some pics as soon as I have something worth looking at. Please be gentle with me.

Thanks

Sharry

Hi Sharry,

Welcome to The Carving Path forum!

I am not a carver of stone, but will caution you about not breathing the dusts that any of your carving activity makes. Stone carvers will have input on what to use and how to use it.

Good luck with your adventures!

Janel

Sharry:

Don't worry, you'll do fine. I, like you, worked additively with clay, as I'll wager, do did Janel (looking at all of her beautiful ceramics). You'll adapt.

I would caution you about the soapstone; work outside if you can, especially for the roughing out part. This stuff raises an amazing amount of dust. I carved a piece about 6 months ago, and after cleaning my work area 3 times, I'm still finding dust. I wore a mask but the stuff made my lungs hurt for months.

All that said, if you are using hand tools and working small, it shouldn't be that much of a problem. What kind of tools do you have? Have you thought about working in wood to begin with?

I'm interested in what kind of sculpting you were doing; were you working in marzipan or making porcelain figures? Just curious.

Debbie K

Sharry: