Sign in to follow this  
michael B

Hello fellow carvers, i live near Tamworth NSW Australia, I have been doing lapidary work for about 6 years, been carving for about 3 years in shapes similar to some New Zealand designs,all of the nephrite jade I carve is Australian,90% of my jade is from my local area from the Dungown and Ogunbil area near Tamworth, I fossic for most of it, I carve imperial rhodonite from the Tamworth region as well, the Tamworth material is very good quality,please have a look at my pics,green jade,black jade, imperial rhodonite, free form Australian Andamooka matrix opal.

Kind regards Michael B

post-2986-0-37240000-1311393525.jpg

post-2-0-77879600-1311560631.jpg

post-2-0-18978800-1311560652.jpg

post-2-0-38640600-1311560666.jpg

Michael:

Really nice carvings! I read your other posts to Billy re: your mining your own materials. You are so lucky, and I hope that your mine prospers and that you do well. You certainly have beautiful materials to work with. A friend of mine is a mineral collector and has a really unusual piece of rhodonite; it's translucent and a deep pink/red. I believe her specimen is from Nambia. Have you guys run across anything like that in your mining?

There are a number of stone carvers here, so you're going to fit right in. If you're interested in what I do, go to My link. I carve all sorts of stone in addition to wood, tusk, bone, etc. and do metal castings in silver, gold or bronze to fit them. I've been carving stone for about 6-7 years, so I can tell you alot about what not to do. It looks like you're getting a good polish on your jade, so you probably don't need much advice.

Looking forward to seeing more of your work.

Debbie K