Malachite, Star & Heart

michael B

Just thought I would post a pic of some malachite I double cabbed, I have never worked with this material before, chatoyant material from Congo Africa, I found it easy to polish compared to my nephrite jade, these cabs will be in the NSW lapidary councils gem show in October, the star was a challenge to keep the shape right. :rolleyes:

Cheers Michael B

post-2986-0-83371300-1313890790.png

Michael:

I like the way you oriented the lines on both of these pieces; the straighter lines make the star look like it's a shooting star, and the curved ones in the heart echo the overall shape. Well done.

I love the color and design of malachite, just hate the extra steps to stay safe carving it, so I don't carve it much.

Hope you do well in your competition.

Debbie K

Thanks Debbie, this was the first time I have cabbed this material, very toxic and messy, I think I will stay with jade and rhodonite now, I done these just for the state show, it was very easy to polish, linde A on leather, normal cabbing is boring for me.

Cheers Michael B

Janel

Cutting, grinding and polishing malachite can cause copper sulphate poisoning, can be absorbed through the lungs, skin, should always be worked wet, and all carving and polishing equipment should be cleaned after use, I have also been told a mask and gloves should be worn even when worked wet, prolonged use of this material is not a good idea, some Chinese carvers will no longer carve this material in large amounts.

michael B

Janel

Cutting, grinding and polishing malachite can cause copper sulphate poisoning, can be absorbed through the lungs, skin, should always be worked wet, and all carving and polishing equipment should be cleaned after use, I have also been told a mask and gloves should be worn even when worked wet, prolonged use of this material is not a good idea, some Chinese carvers will no longer carve this material in large amounts.

michael B