G'day Fellow Carvers :)

Cathy

Hello. I am new to the whole carving world, and have not mastered anything as YET. I have joined The Carving Path to learn from the very skilled members that are here. My carving style is what I refer to as 'Rustic' :blush: . I joined the other week, but have been hesitant to introduce myself and add pictures of my work as compared to what I have seen, I have a LONG way to go. I find carving therapeutic and intend to ' whittle' away until I improve , so it looks like I will be sticking around for a while. :)

Here are a few things that I have made so far...

A native American style flute made out of Bamboo and the bear totem is cypress.

I have made a few friendship bracelets with the amulet being carved from jade, but am yet to find the tools to produce the effect I want (smooth engraving). All I have for gem carving is a Dremel with a few diamond bits and a sheet of 2000 emery paper , so I need to add a few tools to the kit hey.

Looking forward to learning all the terminology of tools and techniques and how to carve jade etc… successfully.

Cheers.

PS:still trying to work out image sizes.I did read the thread about how to do this, but my computer is a dinosaur.

post-3033-0-38268600-1317210073.jpg post-3033-0-52830000-1317210087.jpg

post-3033-0-86101600-1317210098.jpg post-3033-0-33015500-1317210106.jpg

Hello Cat,

Welcome to you! Thank you for your introduction and for the photos. Every journey is begun with the first step, so by now you are certainly on your way with learning about carving. There is much to read if you take the time looking at the information gathered here during the past 6.75 years of the forum. Read, ask questions, and learn.

Janel

Hi Cat