Greetings Fron Hong Kong

Kurt K

Hallo everyone.

I would like to introduce myself to all the outstanding artisans here at the forum. My name is Kurt and I originally hail from and grew up in Austria. Countryside and mountainous, hence my playground where endless forests and mountains. So it’s no wonder that I had always been fascinated with rocks in one form or another.

Due to my work in Hospitality, I left Austria and after several years of traveling to many a country, I ended up here in Hong Kong 23 years ago. Set my roots here and consider it my home today. After 17 years of Tour-guiding Asia (specializing in history and comparative belief-systems), I was invited to move into the classroom, and today I am a NET teacher for primary schools focusing on spoken English including Phonics and Drama-activities.

About 4 years ago, I was led back to rocks via a seller of Fire Agate. Actually, I was looking for something to present to my wife (of 23 years), and could not find anything to my taste or fitting my budget. Fire Agate seemed so unusual and beautiful, yet is not available here in Asia at all. All said, I decided to circumvent the market all together and bought some rough and a machine similar to a Foredome and started chasing color. I got addicted, and did nothing else until finally, I stumbled on a Lapidary’s forum web-site in December last year. Friendly folks, very talkative and incredibly helpful on building ones confidence. This finally tore me away from Fire Agate and I started working slabs of many different materials (mostly Jaspers and Agates). As that forum is mostly about slabbing and cabbing, I got bored quickly and slowly started to create cabs with some small extra features, but while it was a welcome distraction for quite a number of members, the further I go in direction of carving the less people have to say as it is not their field of interest (for most of them).