Dremel Tools Advice

Davy Tee

Hello all

I expect this has been asked a thousand times but i cant find any specific info on the forum (just me proberly)

I am getting a Dremel 300 with flexishaft with the intent to carve small animal figures and wood spirits in Lime and Silver Birch.

What Bits/Burrs do i need to carve these types of items from start to finish.

I am a complete novice so have no knowledge as of yet.

Thanks for your understanding.

Davy

Hi Davy,

I cannot say if there are specific TCP posts about which bits or burrs our carvers might use. I began with regular bits that were offered at the hardware store, and then purchased some sets from carver's catalogs. Many of them I do not use at all, some find use occasionally and a few I use a lot. The choices may vary according to the size of the work you are doing and the nature of the materials being worked. That is all just general information, sorry. You will have to get a few bits/burrs and try them, and then go from there as your needs dictate.

I cringed when you wrote from start to finish. Please learn to finish your work with hand tools so that straight lines are straight, planes are flat or smooth, crevices are clean and areas of form that meet offer a convincing look. Using power tools is just the beginning of the process, and if they are the end of the process, most pieces look unfinished (to me).

Small files, jewelers files are one good step you might use after the power tool, then various knives and scrapers (of which there are many posts on TCP) to do the rest. Sanding may also be part of the process with increasingly smaller grit numbers. I try to sand less and use a very sharp scraper to smooth the surfaces on most of my pieces, but it all depends on what needs doing.

Is there a woodcarving store somewhere in your region? They might be able to talk with you about what other carvers like to use that might be in the store inventory.

Best wishes for your new journey!

Janel