Greetings From A Newbie In Tx

Rod L.

Hi Everyone, My name is Rod, and I've been an artist in one medium or another all my life. If you're on Deviantart I'm Anaealrhan, *waves at flintlock privateer, and bonecarverpm* most other places I'm known as the ForestChylde. Anyway, I started carving on deer antler around 20 years ago, after a trip to the ozarks in Arkansas. I found this little shop that had these small wood spirits carved in some type of tree bark, and I thought they were pretty cool, and said I can do that. Since I was infatuated with knives, the Celts, Mountain men and the like, I figured I should work in deer antler, so I went out to my shed and pulled out this rack of deer antlers that was in a box of stuff I bought from the last auction I had been to, and drug out my Dremel tool, and bought me a flex shaft for it, and off I went.I was hooked for a while, and made a little money, but after fighting all the time with my now Ex-Wife, I just didn't have the energy, or creative drive to continue, so I set it all aside, for several years. Time rolls by, and I get a divorce, and am stuck back living with my parent's at 35, and unemployed, and I pick up my Dremel, my old friend, and a bit of Deer antler, and started working on stuff to kill the heartache, and I had somehow made a step forward from the last time I had done a carving, nearly 5 years prior. I thought I was hot stuff. I did a few carvings, and ended up finding a job, and a Historical Re-creational society called the SCA shortly thereafter. and got interested in Jewelry fabrication, great, another creative endeavor that can eat up lots of money. (I've been through several of those over the years.) First person I meat in the SCA is a man named Dennis Peters, who makes jewelry, and does carvings. Turns out to be a really good friend, and teacher. I started learning about Jewelry fabrication, and put my carving on the back burner AGAIN. Then I got married, and kinda put everything on the back burner