Doug Sanders

Tagua nut

Sergey- I thought I'd start a new topic thread for your question-

I've had some experience dyeing tagua nut with alder cone dye. I only wanted a light stain, to sit in the recesses of the carving. No preparation work was done; I just soaked it in warm dye solution until the color was where I wanted it.

http://www.dougsanders.net/netsuke/goldfish.html

this will get you to my webpage photo. Sorry about the quality- This was my first batch of photos years ago and the quality is poor.

Tagua isn't something I'll be carving much of anymore- I still use it for inlay detail on other carvings, but I've had a number of problems that crop up after the piece was finished. I've had inlays and onlays pop off after about a year. I think that as the nut continues to dry, oils migrate to the surface causing glued inlays to loosen. It seems to go through dimensional change over time.

Also, the himotoshi I carved cracked right between the two holes (months after carving), making the piece unsaleable.

Like all nuts, tagua is oily. If we look at old netsuke carved from tagua nut (I think there's also another sort called corozo nut?) they have darkened considerably to a deep honey color. This needs to be kept in mind when conceiving the subject you wish to carve.

If you soak the nut for several hours in warm water, it becomes easier to carve. Once dry and cooled, it is hard again and can be more finely carved and polished.

Good luck with your carving

Doug Sanders

Thanks Doug,

This is a valuable advices for me! I never carved tagua nut

previously.

I try carve Argonaut(Argonauta argo) - the variety of the octopus. And

thinking about that, as this coloring...

That will if delete the butter from nut with using solvents?

Serge

Hi Sergey,